Do you have to renew AWS certification?

Do you have to renew AWS certification?

Are you an IT professional looking to boost your career in cloud computing? Then AWS certification might be just what you need! Whether you’re a seasoned expert or just starting, AWS certifications can validate your knowledge and skills in the ever-evolving world of cloud technology. But here’s the burning question: Do you have to renew your AWS certification? In this blog post, we’ll explore the ins and outs of keeping your certification current and discuss the steps to ensure that it remains a valuable asset for years to come. So, let’s dive into the world of aws certification renewal!

What is AWS certification?

AWS certification is a credential offered by Amazon Web Services (AWS) that validates an individual’s expertise in utilizing AWS cloud services. It serves as proof of your knowledge and abilities to design, deploy, and manage applications on the AWS platform.

There are various types of AWS certifications available, each focusing on different areas of expertise. The most popular ones include Solutions Architect, Developer, SysOps Administrator, DevOps Engineer, and Cloud Practitioner. These certifications cover a wide range of skills required for designing and implementing scalable solutions using AWS technologies.

Types of AWS certifications

AWS offers a variety of certifications that cater to different roles and skill levels within the cloud computing field. These certifications validate your knowledge and expertise in using AWS services, and can greatly enhance your career prospects.

1. Foundational Level: The AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner certification is an entry-level certification that validates your overall understanding of the AWS Cloud platform. It covers basic concepts and key services offered by AWS.

2. Associate Level: There are three associate-level certifications – Solutions Architect, Developer, and SysOps Administrator. These certifications focus on specific job roles within the AWS ecosystem, testing your ability to design, develop, and manage applications using various AWS services.

3. Professional Level: The professional-level certifications are more advanced and require a higher level of experience with AWS solutions. There are two professional-level certifications available – Solutions Architect and DevOps Engineer.

4. Specialty Certifications: In addition to the above categories, there are also specialty certifications that allow you to demonstrate expertise in specific areas such as Big Data, Security, Machine Learning, Networking, Database Management, etc.

Each certification has its own set of prerequisites and exam requirements. It’s important to choose a certification path that aligns with your skills and career goals.

Remember that obtaining an AWS certification is not just about adding a credential to your resume; it also demonstrates your commitment to continuous learning and staying updated with the latest technologies in cloud computing.

Do you have to renew your AWS certification?

When it comes to AWS certification, one question that often arises is whether or not you have to renew your certification. The answer, as with many things in the tech world, is that it depends.

AWS certifications do expire after a certain period. This is because technology and best practices are constantly evolving, so professionals need to stay up-to-date with the latest knowledge and skills. By requiring recertification, AWS ensures that certified individuals are equipped with the most current information.

The expiration date of your certification varies depending on which level of certification you hold. For example, Associate-level certifications are valid for three years, while Professional-level certifications are valid for two years.

So how do you go about renewing your AWS certification? Well, the good news is that there’s no need to retake the entire exam. Instead, you can simply take a shorter “recertification” exam to demonstrate your continued proficiency in AWS services and technologies.

Steps to renew your AWS certification

1. Stay up-to-date with the latest changes: AWS constantly updates its services and features, so it’s essential to stay informed about any changes that may affect your certification. Follow AWS blogs, participate in webinars, or join communities to keep yourself updated.

2. Review the exam guide: The first step in preparing for a certification renewal is familiarizing yourself with the exam guide provided by AWS. This document outlines the topics covered in the exam and helps you identify areas where you may need further study.

3. Refresh your knowledge and skills: Take advantage of available resources like training courses, whitepapers, and online documentation to refresh your understanding of relevant concepts. Practice using AWS tools and services through labs or practical exercises.

4. Schedule an exam appointment: Once you feel confident in your knowledge and skills, schedule an appointment for the renewal exam through the AWS Certification portal. Choose a date that allows sufficient time for preparation while ensuring you meet any expiration deadlines.

5. Prepare strategically: Create a study plan based on areas where you feel less confident or are unfamiliar with recent updates or additions to AWS services. Allocate dedicated study time each day or week leading up to your scheduled examination date.

6. Take practice exams: To assess your readiness for renewal, take practice exams available on platforms like A Cloud Guru or Whizlabs mock tests that simulate real-life exam scenarios.

7. Stay calm during the exam: On test day, ensure you have a quiet environment free from distractions before starting the online proctored examination via PSI Services LLC (PSI). Read each question carefully, manage time efficiently, and trust in your preparation as you answer each question diligently.

Remember that these steps serve as general guidelines; always refer to official documentation from Amazon Web Services for specific information regarding certification renewal processes.


AWS certification is a valuable asset for IT professionals seeking to validate their expertise in cloud computing. While the certifications do not expire, it is highly recommended to renew them regularly to stay up-to-date with the latest advancements and maintain your competitive edge in the industry.

Renewing your AWS certification involves following a few simple steps, such as completing certain training courses or passing an updated version of the exam. By doing so, you can demonstrate your commitment to continuous learning and showcase your proficiency in using AWS services effectively click for source.

So if you already hold an AWS certification or are considering pursuing one, make sure to prioritize its renewal. Embrace lifelong learning and keep yourself at the forefront of cloud computing knowledge – it will pay off both personally and professionally.

Stay certified, stay relevant!

Leave a Comment